Washington Redskins 2016 Schedule is here!

DISCUSS IT IN OUR DC PRO SPORTS FACEBOOK GROUP!

The NFL released it’s full schedule for the 2016 season, which means we now know not only who the Washington Redskins will play, but also when they will play.

The preseason schedule was released last week. If you need a refresher, here it is.

PRESEASON:

DATE OPPONENT (NETWORK) TIME (ET)
Thursday, Aug. 11 at Atlanta Falcons (NBC4/CSN) 7 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 19
vs. NEW YORK JETS (NBC4/CSN)
7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 27 vs. BUFFALO BILLS (NBC4/CSN) 7 p.m.
Thursday, Sept. 1 at Tampa Bay Buccaneers (NBC4/CSN) 7:30 p.m.

 

Now, on to important stuff — the regular season. Washington will play the AFC North and NFC North this season and that’s going to be a very tough match. As you can see, the Skins will have five nationally televised games, including opening the 2016 Monday Night Football schedule by hosting the formidable Pittsburgh Steelers on September 12 to close week one.

The Skins stay home for week two and their first divisional game against the Dallas Cowboys. The next week the Skins go on the road to the Meadowlands to play the Giants in week three. A week later, Washington will host the Cleveland Browns, a chance to go up against former Skins QB Robert Griffin III, who signed with the Browns last month.

Washington will travel to London this season, playing a “road” game against the Cincinnati Bengals on October 30. That game will start at 9:30 in the east and will be broadcast on Fox. Obviously, that will be a nationally televised game.

The bye week will come conveniently after eight weeks of play, on November 6.

The next nationally televised game will be against the team that knocked the Skins out of the playoffs in January, the Green Bay Packers. The Pack returns to Fed Ex Field for a Sunday night game on NBC and Washington will get a chance to avenge that postseason loss.

Washington will play their final Monday night game of the year in week 15 when they host the Carolina Panthers, a team that embarrassed the Skins last year. Five days later Washington will play on Saturday night on the road against the Chicago Bears, a team Washington beat in 2015, but this game is scheduled in a very tough way for Washington.

As you can see, this is a very noticeably tougher schedule than last season. This is what happens when you win your division — even if most people think you won it by default. We will learn a few things about the Skins this year. How close is the team to actually contending? Or are they really just pretenders, as most observers seem to believe? We will find out.

REGULAR SEASON:

DATE OPPONENT (NETWORK) TIME (ET)
Monday, Sept. 12 vs. PITTSBURGH STEELERS (ESPN) # 7:10 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 18
vs. DALLAS COWBOYS (FOX)
1 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 25 at New York Giants (Fox) 1 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 2
vs. CLEVELAND BROWNS (CBS)
1 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 9
at Baltimore Ravens (FOX) 1 p.m.*
Sunday, Oct. 16 vs. PHILADELPHIA EAGLES (FOX) 1 p.m.*
Sunday, Oct. 23 at Detroit Lions (FOX) 1 p.m.*
Sunday, Oct. 30 at Cincinnati Bengals^ (FOX) # 9:30 a.m.
Sunday, Nov. 6 BYE
Sunday, Nov. 13 vs. MINNESOTA VIKINGS (FOX) 1 p.m.*
Sunday, Nov. 20 vs. GREEN BAY PACKERS (NBC) # 8:30 p.m.*
Thursday, Nov. 24 at Dallas Cowboys (FOX) # 4:30 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 4 at. Arizona Cardinals (FOX) 4:25 p.m.*
Sunday, Dec. 11 at Philadelphia Eagles (FOX)
1 p.m.*
Monday, Dec. 19 vs. CAROLINA PANTHERS (ESPN) # 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 24 at Chicago Bears (FOX) 1 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 1
vs. NEW YORK GIANTS (FOX) 1 p.m.*

POSTSEASON:

Jan. 7-8: NFL Wild Card Weekend
Jan. 14-15: NFL Divisional Weekend
Sunday, Jan. 22: NFL Conference Championship Games
Sunday, Jan. 29: 2017 NFL Pro Bowl
Sunday, Feb. 5: Super Bowl LI (NRG Stadium, Houston, Texas)

All Kickoff Times Eastern
ALL HOME GAMES CAPS

# Nationally Televised
^ Game to be played at Wembley Stadium in London
* Subject to flexible scheduling

COMMENTS

Comments are closed.