Washington Capitals secure the Presidents’ Trophy

The Verizon Center will feature a new banner next season.  That is because the Washington Capitals defeated the Columbus Blue Jackets 4-1 tonight and secured their second Presidents Trophy in franchise history.  The Trophy is awarded to the NHL steam that scored the most standing points on the season.  Washington previously won the trophy during the 2009-10 season. Washington’s 4-1 win improved the club to 54-16-5 on the season with 113 standing points.  The closest team to the Capitals is the Dallas Stars with 99 points.  The under-stated benefit of the Presidents’ Trophy is that the Capitals will received home ice advantage throughout the Stanley Cup Playoffs. Washington scored three goals in the final period to ice the win.  The Caps and Jackets traded first period tallies, with the Caps scoring first on Justin Williams’ 22nd marker of the season.  It gave Washington a short-lived lead until Cam Atkinson tied it up less than two minutes later.  The two clubs skated to a scoreless middle period. From there on, it was all Caps.  Tom Wilson scored his seventh of the season at the 3:46 mark of the final period.  Wilson took, a rebound created by Mike Richards and put it past an out of positioned Sergei Brobovsky.  TJ Oshie scored his 24th of the season off a deflection from a long shot off the stick of Matt Niskanan.  Oshie’s tally put the Capitals up 3-1.  Nicklas Backstrom would put the seal in the win with his 20th at the 17:35 mark of the game. Braden Holtby stopped 21 of 22 shots to improvise to a really impressive 46-9-4 record on the season. The focus turns to maintaining a healthy roster throughout the remainder of the games and prepare to host the opening playoff series.  JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION.  LINK HERE!      


Comments are closed.